STAFF CONGRESS MEETING

AGENDA

Thursday, June 6, 1996

UNIVERSITY CENTER BALLROOM

Luncheon served at 12 Noon

Meeting follows (Approximately 1 pm)

I	Call	to	Order

- II. Approval of May 9, 1996 minutes. (Previously sent)
- III. President's Report Chuck Pettit
 - A. Introduction of '96 Staff Congress Members
 - B. Invitation to the NEW '96 members to remain for meeting
- IV. President Elect's Report Cheryl Torline
- V. Standing Committee Reports:
 - A. Benefits Terri Bridewell
 - B. Constitution & Bylaws Janet Krebs
 - C. Credentials & Election Diana Schneider
 - D. Liaison Jay Stevens
 - E. Policies Claire Newman
 - F. Salary & Budget Audrey Riffe
- VI. AdHoc Committee Assignments
 - A. Food Service Advisory Terri Bridewell, Chuck Harmon, Leva Kidd
 - B. Health Utilization Cheryl Torline/Peg Adams
 - C. Naming Committee Shirley Welitzkin
 - D. Transportation Wilma Daugherty
 - E. Supervisory Training Jim Parker
 - F. Employee Assistance Diana Schneider
 - G. Technology Committee Marilym Siry
- VII. Old Business
- VIII. New Business
 - A. President Elect Torline, Chair of the Nominating Committee, presents the slate for '96-'97 Executive Council (President Elect and Secretary) to be elected at July meeting, additional nominations can be made in writing prior to the July meeting, or from the floor at the July meeting.
- IX. Announcements
- X. Closed Session
- XI. Adjournment

STAFF CONGRESS

Northern Kentucky University ■ Highland Heights, Kentucky 41099 -

STAFF CONGRESS MINUTES

Thursday, June 6, 1996 University Ballroom

Members Present: Peg Adams, Cheryl Bloomer, Mike Bresser, Lisa Brewer, Terri Bridewell, Wilma Daugherty, Chuck Harmon, Marilyn Henderson, Gail Jewell, Marcia Johnson, Leva Kidd, Janet Krebs, Pat Lindsay, Ava Nienaber, Debra Orth, Jim Parker, Chuck Pettit, Audrey Riffe, Barb Scheben, Diana Schneider, Charlene Schweitzer, Elaine Shafer, Annette Simpson, Marilyn Siry, Dan Snow, Jay Stevens, Glenn Strausbaugh, Allen Thomas, Jr, Cheryl Torline, Peggy Vater, Carolyn Walsh, Shirley Welitzkin.

New Members Present: Shew Mei Chen, Rose Morgan, Linda Parks, Linda Pettyjohn, Janice Rachford, Joe Ruh, Nancy

Trimbur, Denise Thomas

Members Absent: Clark Kyle, Claire Newman

V.P. Admin: absent

Liason: Margo Ferrante

Staff Regent: Barb Herald

Secretary: Peg Goodrich

Guest: Gerald Hunter

- I. Call to Order The meeting was called to order at 1:10pm.
- II. Minutes Minutes of the May 9th Meeting were approved.
- III. President's Report:

Chuck commented on the fine luncheon held before the meeting to thank the past year members' participation and to welcome new members. The recipients of the Staff Congress Scholarships and Book Awards were also present. The winner of the A.D. Albright Scholarship Award was presented by Dr. A.D. Albright and awarded to Keith Lindsay, son of Pat Lindsay, Nursing Dept. The Staff Congress Award was presented by John R.S. Brooking and awarded to Jamie Reynolds, daughter of Janis Reynolds, Registrar. Two Book Awards were presented to Megan Derrick, daughter of Deedra & Steve Derrick, Education and Phy Plt. and to Lori Hardcorn, daughter of Mary Jo Hardcorn, Criminal Justice.

A welcome to the **Newly Elected**: Shew Mei Chen, Rose Morgan, Linda K. Parks, Linda Pettyjohn, Janice Rachford, Joe Ruh, Nancy Trimbur and Denise Thomas.

The **Re-elected** who will serve another term were: Chuck Harmon, Marilyn Henderson, Pat Lindsay, Chuck Pettit, Diana Schneider, Charlene Schweitzer, Peggy Vater, Carolyn Walsh, Shirley Welitzkin.

A certificate of appreciation and Farewell went to: Cheryl Bloomer, Terri Bridewell, Marcia Johnson, Ava Nienaber, Elaine Shafer, and Marilyn Siry.

- IV. Vice President's Report:
 - Cheryl Torline will appoint a new committee representative for the Technology Committee.

Margo Ferrante reported that Delta Dental will again be our vendor for the new year. Information will be coming in the mail including information with family plan quotes.

V. Standing Committe Reports and Adhoc Committees Assignments:

Due to the end of the fiscal year and the appointing of new committee members and chairpersons for the new year there were no reports of the standing committees or adhoc committees.

- VI. Old Business: No old business.
- VII. New Business: Cheryl Torline reported that nominations for President Elect and Secretary for the new term will be at the next July meeting. Claire Newman has elected to run for President Elect and Charlene Schweitzer and Diana Schneider will run for Secretary. Anyone else on Staff Congress my still be nominated by calling Cheryl Torline.

Cheryl presented Chuck with a plaque in appreciation for his service as President of Staff Congress for the past two years.

VIII. Announcements:

Jack Moreland will be attending the July meeting to meet with Staff Congress members.

IX. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 1:30pm.

Respectively submitted, Liana Schneider

STAFF CONGRESS

Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights, Kentucky 41099

MEMORANDUM

TO: 1996-97 Staff Congress Representatives

FR: Peg Goodrich, Secretary
Staff Congress Office

DA: June 12, 1996

RE: Committee Preference

The Staff Congress Standing Committees are listed in the Staff Congress Bylaws, Article VI, Section 4. All representatives are expected to serve on a committee. We like to give you the opportunity of serving on a committee you would prefer to if it is at all possible. If you would like to be put on the ballot for president elect or secretary please notify us by completing the form below and also give your committee preference on the form and return it to the Staff Congress Office, AC 105.

The Staff Congress Constitution and Bylaws are enclosed for the newly elected Staff Congress representatives that did not previously serve on Staff Congress.

Congratulations to our new representatives, those re-elected and returning for another two year term. We are also looking forward to working once again with those returning for the second year of their term and we hope you will continue to serve on the committee you did previously to bring your knowledge and experience to the new members on the committee. However, if a change is desired we will accept your request.