

SPECIAL MEETING

FACULTY SENATE Monday, January 24, 2000 2:30 PM University Ballroom

Call To Order

- I. Election of Officers for 2000-2001 Faculty Senate
- II. Adjournment
- NOTE: This meeting is for Senators serving during the 2000-2001 academic year.

Special Faculty Senate Meeting January 24, 2000

2000-2001 Senators Present: R. Brautigan, C. Bredemeyer, L. Ebersole, P. Fairbanks, P. Goddard, D. Gronefeld, C. Hewan, R. Holt, R. Jenisch, R, McNeil, J. Niewahner, L. Olasov, J. Smith, B. Thiel, S. Weiss, T Weiss, S. Zachary.

Gaut Ragsdale, president of the 1999-2000 Senate called the meeting to order at 2:40. While we awaited the formation of a quorum, Rudy Garns announced that there will be a presentation of the profile of entering students at NKU "Datafest?" to be held on Feb. 8th from 3-4:30 in AC 506. Rudy also said that he would be giving an update on General Education for both the Senate and the UCC.

Although a quorum was not reached, it was decided to elected the executive committee for the next Senate and to have such action validated by the regular Senate meeting that was to follow this one. Those previously nominated were: Carol Bredemeyer, President; Jeff Smith, Vice President; Ted Weiss, Secretary; Steve Weiss, Parliamentarian; Ray McNeil, Professional Concerns Committee chair, and Linda Olasov, University Curriculum Committee chair. There were no nominees from the floor. The above nominees were elected by acclimation. Warm, though modest applause followed. Attention then turned to the two posts for whom there had been no nominees: the chairs of the Budget and Benefits. The Executive Committee will work on the issue of filling the Budget Committee chair.

Meeting adjourned at 2:49.

Respectfully submitted

Ted Weiss, Secretary

1

FACULTY SENATE

Executive Committee Ballot January 24, 2000 Term of Office: July 1, 2000 to July 1, 2001

> PRESIDENT Carol Bredemeyer_____

VICE PRESIDENT Jeff Smith_____

SECRETARY Ted Weiss_____

PARLIAMENTARIAN Steve Weiss_____

-

BENEFITS COMMITTEE

BUDGET COMMITTEE

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE..... Linda Olasov_____

PROFESSIONAL CONCERNS COMM.....

Ray McNeil_____

Voting Instructions:

- 1) Write in all nominations from the floor.
- 2) Circle only the candidate of your choice

BALLOT RESULTS OF FACULTY SENATE FALL '99 ELECTION

SENATORS AT LARGE - Term July 1, 2000 to June 31, 2002 Arts & Sciences: Elected: Perilou Goddard Ray McNeil Two Vacancies

(Serving 2nd year of term: Patty Fairbanks & Bob Kempton)

College of Business: Write-In Gary Clayton

Professional Studies Elected: 'Cheryl McKenzie

Russ Jenisch Linda Olasov

(Serving 2nd year of term: Carol Ryan)

Chase College of Law Elected: **Carol Bredemeyer** (Serving 2nd year of term: Martin Huelsmann)

COMPLAINT PROCESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE 1 Year Term 1/1/00 to 12/31/00

Arts & Science College of Business Professional Studies Chase College of Law Elected: Nancy Dysart Martin Elected: Tom Cate Elected: Mary Kirk No Nominations: VACANCY

FINANCIAL EXIGENCY 1 ear Term 1/1/00 to 12/31/00

(8 should be elected out of which 5 to be appointed by the President of NKU when needed)

Nominated & Elected:

Write-ins

Fred Schneider - Chase Law Simone Bess - Technology Harold Wiebe - Technology Caron Martin - Nursing Prince Brown - Socio

Carol Bredemeyer Jeff Williams

Mike Washington - History Rudy Garns - PHI Frank Steely - History Robert Naczi - Bio

 PEER REVIEW ADVISORY
 2 Year Term January 1, 2000 to December 31, 2001

 Elected
 Tom Cate

 Robert Kempton

 Serving second year:
 Rachelle Bruno

 Fred Rhynhart

 Alice Rini

 (5 additional faculty needed to serve as alternates for one year)

 PEER REVIEW HEARING 2 Year Term January 1, 2000 to December 31, 2001

 Elected
 Linda Olasov

 Jeff Smith

Serving second year:

Alternates to serve one year:

Linda Olasov Jeff Smith James Gray Sally Jacobsen Fred Schneider Nancy Dysart Martin Andrea Cornuelle Ann Luggen

(1, additional faculty needed to serve as alternate for one year)