Faculty Senate Northern Kentucky University Senate Highland Heights, Kentucky 41076

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES Special Meeting - September 14, 1987

MEMBERS PRESENT: Scottie Barty, Rebecca Britton, Carol Bredemeyer, Gary R. Cole, David Dunevant, Lynn Ebersole, Allen Ellis, Andrea Gauthier, Mary Carol Hopkins, Lynn Jones, Mike Klembara, David Lavery, Nancy Martin, Margaret Myers, LeRoy Gruner (substitute for Sharlotte Neely), Lou Noyd, Dennis O'Keefe, Jan Prickett, Tom Rambo, Fred Rhynhart, Fred Schneider, Linda Sheffield, Dennis Sies, Robert Vitz, Bill Wagner, Bob Wallace, Ted Weiss, Don Welti, Macel Wheeler, Geraldine Williams.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jim Gray, Nan Littleton, David Thomson, Susan Hollis Nakao.

GUESTS: Bob Bussom, College of Business; Carl Slater, Dean of Arts & Sciences; Tom Cate, Economics/Finance; Lew Wallace, History.

Nancy Martin called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. She gave background on the process of electing the Provost Search Committee. President Boothe had initially asked Faculty Senate to elect the four faculty from his list of nominees. Faculty Senate agreed to accept his nominees, but opened the nominations to all faculty. Faculty Senate is holding the election rather than the whole faculty at the request of President Boothe.

In terms of eligibility of candidates, the candidates are defined as faculty by definition in the Faculty Handbook. Chairs of departments are included in this category.

Nancy turned the chair over to Ted Weiss because she was a candidate for the committee. Ted Weiss reported that the executive committee recommended the election be held in two stages with an initial ballot held to cut the number of candidates to 10 and a final ballot to elect the 4. Each ballot may be for 4 candidates or fewer. Tom Rambo moved we follow that procedure and the motion passed by acclamation.

Dennis O'Keefe, Macel Wheeler and Andrea Gauthier were appointed to collect and count the ballots. The 10 candidates from the first ballot were:

David Adams Carol Futhey Charles Hawkins Lynn Langmeyer Nancy Martin

Linda Olasov Robert Wallace Richard Ward Michael Washington Connie Widmer

Ted reminded the Senate that the four candidates chosen would be sent to President Boothe who would then add the other three members of the committee: another faculty person, an administrator and a student.

The final four faculty elected were:

Bob Wallace Linda Olasov Connie Widmer Nancy Nartin

Nancy thanked everyone for their participation in the process.

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.