MINUTES OF FACULTY SENATE MEETING, JANUARY 23, 1978

Senators Present: Larry A. Giesmann, Don Taplits, Dennis O'Keefe,

Steve Newman, Peter Moore, Art Miller,

Chris Tetzlaff, Ted Weiss, Doris Brett, Bill McKim,

Sharlotte Neely, Ralph Peterson, Al Pinelo,

Janet Miller, Steve Boyd, Beth Gwynn, Rose Stauss, Ed Goggin, Tom Rambo, Rose Zeiser, Robert Vitz.

Director of Community Services

Dr. Vitz announced that Jack DePree, a candidate for the Director of Community Services, would be meeting with the Faculty Senate on Tuesday, January 24, at 1:30 p.m. and with other faculty at 2:00 p.m. in Nunn Auditorium.

Sabbatical Leaves

Six sabbatical leaves have been funded for next year. Faculty are encouraged to get proposals in as soon as possible.

Snow Policy

A resolution to ask the administration about having a snow policy was passed at the last Faculty Senate meeting. Dr. Vitz and Sam Makris met with Dr. Scholes to discuss this. Dr. Vitz read to the Faculty Senate a letter from Dr. Scholes concerning the snow policy. Dr. Scholes said classes will be cancelled only under the most serious conditions. If faculty are not able to meet their classes on days the university is open, then the usual procedures of having someone cover their classes for them should be used.

Faculty Grievance Committees

Dr. Vitz announced the results of the election for the Peer Review Committee. The following members were elected by the faculty at-large:

Bart Braden Ken Carter Annette Chavez Robert Vitz Jeffrey Williams

The Faculty Bearing Committee which is made up of three faculty members elected directly by the faculty and two others picked from a group of six elected by the faculty consists of the following:

Three Elected Directly by Faculty

Warren Corbin Peter Moore Connie Widmer

Six Elected by Faculty From Which Only Two Will Be Picked

Doris Brett Larry Glesmann Al Pinelo Jack Grosse David Jones Joe Petrick

Chairpersons' Handbook

Dr. Travis discussed the Handbook for Program Chairpersons with the Faculty Senate. The following revisions were made:

- Page 3, Section I.H. The third line should read, "Once the three final candidates are decided upon, the first two candidates will be brought to campus for an interview." Continuing, "When one of the first two candidates is acceptable to the Dean and the program faculty, the Dean will forward a positive recommendation to the Provost. No further interviews will be necessary. If neither of the first two candidates is acceptable to either the Dean or program faculty or, in rare cases, the Provost, the third and subsequent candidates will be interviewed.
- Page 3. Section I.H. The second to the last sentence on the page should read, "The Dean will provide a justification in writing for such action to the program faculty and to the Provost."
- Page 5. Section II.A. The second sentence in this section should be, "Faculty input will be obtained by the Dean as part of the annual performance review procedure." The next sentence will then continue on with, "The Dean will conduct an annual performance review...."
- Page 11. Section V.A.2. This should read, "The Dean will obtain input from program faculty concerning the effectiveness of the chairperson; this will be done with the chairperson's knowledge."
- Page 11, Section V.B. Change Section 2 to Section 3; insert new Section 2 which reads: "A majority of the program faculty can request an extraordinary review of the chairperson at any time by submitting a written request to the Dean. Upon receipt of such a request, it is incumbent upon the Dean to conduct a full faculty review according to the procedures outlined below."

Student Code

Dr. Travis announced that she asked Dr. Albright to delete pages 7-9, which deals with hearing procedures, from the Student Code. He agreed to do this.

Sam Makris distributed to the Senate a list of editing changes for the Student Code.

The Student Affairs Committee made a motion that the Faculty Senate request the administration to delay issuing the Student Code until it had been revised in a number of different areas. Rose Zeiser seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Dr. Vitz volunteered to take this to the Board of Regents meeting that same evening.

Committee Reports

Curriculum Committee. Gary Scott introduced the Associate Begree Program in Retail Mid-Management. The Curriculum Committee made a motion to approve this program. Janet Miller seconded the motion. The motion was approved 10 to 2 with 2 abstentions.

Faculty Benefits Committee. Arthur Miller introduced the Paculty Tritiated Reassigned Time and Administrative Initiated Reassigned Time proposal for approval by the Faculty Sanate. It was approved unanimously.

Budget & Administrative Services Committee. Al Pinelo ennounced that Dr. Albright had agreed to inform the committee about the budget after it had been approved by the legislature and had been returned to the University for decision making on internal allocation.