- Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights, Kentucky 41076-

July 14, 1988 * 1:00 p.m. AC 506

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of June 9th, 1988 minutes
- III. President's Report
- IV. The meeting will be turned over to the Parliamentarian for the Election of Officers for the 1988-89 Executive Council.
- * The Staff/Foundation Scholarships will be presented at 12:00 noon, AC 506. Staff Congress representatives are encouraged to attend prior to the regular meeting. Refreshments will be served.

DM/pg

- Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights, Kentucky 41076-

STAFF CONGRESS MINUTES Meeting of July 14, 1988

MEMBERS PRESENT: Cathy Dewberry, Gary Easten, Joe Gimpel, Peg Goodrich, Denna Gosney, Marilyn Gosney, Chrissie Gron, Marilyn Henderson, Diane Hunley, Jeannine Holtz, Janet Krebs, Margaret Lester, Pat Markus, Barbara Martin, Donna Messer, LaVerne Mulligan, Rosanne Rawe, Ron Rieger, Sue Roth, Ruth Saccone, Marjorie Scheller, Elaine Shafer, Phil Webb, Jim Wilson, Mary Wilson

MEMBERS ABSENT: Shirley Garrett, Pat Harrington, Lisa Hart, Rocke Saccone, Virginia Stallings. Nancy Trimbur

The July 14th meeting was called to order at 1:03 p.m. shortly after the conclusion of the awarding of the A. D. Albright and Staff Congress scholarships by outgoing president Don McKenzie.

Don called for any additions, deletions or corrections to the minutes of the June 9th meeting. Since there were none, Don turned the meeting over to Marjorie Scheller, Parliamentarian for the voting of the Executive Council.

Marjorie asked Congress if everyone had their ballots for each of the offices. Ballots were given to the representatives as they signed in at the meeting. The nominating committee had the following listed on the ballots: for president, Diane Hunley; vice-president, Ron Rieger; secretary, Laverne Mulligan. She went on to explain the voting system, then calling for any nominations from the floor for president to be added to the ballot. There were none. Nominations were closed and seconded.

She next called for any nominations from the floor for vice-president. There was one, Janet Krebs. Nominations were closed and seconded. Marjorie asked everyone to write Janet Krebs' name on their ballot for vice president.

She next called for any nominations from the floor for the office of secretary. There were none, the nominations were closed and seconded.

Marjorie asked everyone to mark their ballots for each office, voting for only one person in each office. Once the voting was completed the ballots were collectand counted. The results were: Diane V. Hunley as president, Janet Krebs as vice-president and LaVerne Mulligan as secretary.

Marjorie then turned the meeting over to the new president, Diane Hunley. Diane thanked everyone for the honor and stated she would serve the university staff as best she could.

Diane then explained the duties of each committee were very important and that she hoped the memo sent out by Don McKenzie to the 1988-89 Staff Congress members regarding their preference of the committee they would serve on had been filled out and returned. Diane also wanted everyone to think about the role of chair and co-chair of a committee since the committees will meet briefly before the meeting and elect a chair and co-chair.

There were no further reports. Diane asked for any new business.

A question was raised if the Affirmative Action Coordinator Selection Committee had made a decision yet. Jim Wilson who is Congress' representative on the committee commented the committee had met but no decisions had been made.

There was no other new business and the president called for adjournment. It was so moved and seconded at 1:41 p.m.

LM/pg

- Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights, Kentucky 41076-

MEMORANDUM

TO: Staff Congress 1988-89 Representatives

FR: Don McKenzie, President

DA: July 8, 1988

RE: Commmittee Preference

One of the duties of Staff Congress representatives is to serve on at least one Standing Committee. These committees are as follows:

 Constitution & Bylaws
 Benefits
Credentials & Elections
 Policies
Liaison

Please note your preference of the committee on which you would prefer to serve. 1 = 1st choice, 2 = 2nd choice, etc. If you were on Staff Congress last year you may continue with the same committee, if you desire to do so. Your experience would be beneficial for the new representatives serving on that committee.

We would appreciate receiving this information by Tuesday, July 12. Send to Don McKenzie, c/o Public Safety.

DM/pg

- Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights, Kentucky 41076-

MEMORANDUM

TO: LaVerne Mulligan

FR: Peg Goodrich

DA: July 15, 1988

RE: Guests at the Staff Congress July 14th meeting

The following signed in as guests or were present at the July meeting. However, several in attendance probably did not sign in.

Don McKenzie Paul Gibson Patti Jefferies Janice Osborne Paul & Lillian Conrad Robert Sprague Charlene Wray Frank Stallings Jon David Reinhardt Jane Schwierjohann Brenda Rigg Ken Ramey Edith Hill Kathy Qualls Nancy Niemeyer Debbie Moellman Carolyn Walsch Robert Rhode Im Alford Jim Alford Mike Baker Roberta Brinkley Julie Rice Susan Bell Mary Ann Kinney Katherine Rosenthal Jackie Baker Mary Huening Cindy Dickens Dot & Carl Paolucci Henry Paolucci David Jorns, Provost Donna Smith Dot Lipscomb Margaret Groeschen Jerry Warner Deborah Ladwig

Leon E. Boothe, President

Jane Schwierjohann