FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

Meeting of May 12, 1988 (Organizational Meeting)

MEMBERS PRESENT: Carol Bredemeyer, David Dunevant, Sandy Easton, Carol Futney, Andrea Gauthier, Jim Gray, J. Lynn Jones, Mike Klembara, Nancy D. Martin, David Hogan representing Art Miller, Margaret Myers, Phil Obermiller, Dennis O'Keefe, Fred Rhynhart, Denise Robinson, Frank Stallings, James Thomas, David Thomson, Robert Wallace, Richard Ward, Emily Werrell, Macel Wheeler, Geraldine Williams.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Becky Britton, Gary Cole, R. Kent Curtis, Lynn Ebersole, Charles Hawkins, William R. Jones, Don Kelm, Nan Littleton, Lou Noyd, Jan Prickett, Ted Weiss.

GUESTS: Peter Moore, Mathematics; George Goedel, Psychology; Bob Bussom, College of Business.

Nancy Martin called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

A request was made for the senators to fill out the form for the committees on which they wished to serve. Departmental senators were urged to get the names of their departmental committee members to Peg Goodrich as soon as possible.

Nancy Martin turned the meeting over to Fred Schneider as she was running for president.

Nominations received prior to the meeting were on a ballot. The meeting was opened to nominations from the floor.

Nancy Martin was previously nominated for president. Fred Rhynhart made a motion to close nominations for president and to have the secretary enter one ballot. David Thomson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Nancy Martin resumed control of the meeting.

Fred Schneider was previously nominated for vice-president. Fred Rhynhart made a motion to close nominations for vice-president and to have the secretary enter one ballot. David Thomson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Geraldine Williams was previously nominated for secretary. Fred Rhynhart made a motion to close nominations for secretary and to have the secretary enter one ballot. David Thomson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Richard Ward nominated Fred Rhynhart for parliamentarian. Fred Schneider moved to close nominations for parliamentarian and to have the secretary enter one ballot. Carol Bredemeyer seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Carol Futney was previously nominated for Benefits chair. Sandy Easton moved to close nominations and to have the secretary enter one ballot. Frank Stallings seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Sandy Easton was previously nominated for Budget & Commonwealth chair. Dennis O'Keefe moved to close nominations and to have the secretary enter one ballot. Carol Futney seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Mike Klembara and Richard Ward were previously nominated for Curriculum chair. Fred Schneider moved to close nominations. Carol Futney seconded. A written ballot was taken. Peter Moore, chair of the Elections Committee, counted the ballots. Mike Klembara was elected chair. The results were Mike Klembara, 13 votes and Richard Ward, 10 votes.

Ted Weiss was previously nominated for Professional Concerns chair. Dennis O'Keefe made a motion to close nominations. David Thomson seconded. Fred Schneider moved to amend to motion to have the secretary cast one ballot. The amended motion passed unanimously.

MEMBERS ASSENT: Becky Britton, Gary Cole, R. Kent Curtis, Lynn Ebersole, Charles

motion to close nominations for secretary and to have the secretary enter one

The meeting adjourned at 12:17 p.m.

GW/pg