

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES Election of 1989/90 Officers Meeting of May 11, 1989

1989/90 MEMBERS PRESENT: Barry Andersen, Lawrence Borne, Carol Bredemeyer, Tom Cate, Andrea Cornuelle, Sudesh Duggal, Sandy Easton, Nancy Lee Firak, Nancy Hinzman, Dennis Lye, Nancy Martin, Art Miller, Marjorie Muntz, Margaret Myers, Phil Obermiller, Dennis O'Keefe, J. Michael Thomson, Frank Stallings, James Thomas, Bill Wagner, Robert Wallace, Richard Ward, Ted Weiss, Emily Werrell, Geraldine Williams.

1988/89 Non Voting MEMBERS PRESENT: Tom Brossart, David Dunevant, Mike Klembara, David Thomson, Macel Wheeler.

1989/90 MEMBERS ABSENT: Diane D. Belland, Steve Brooks, R. Kent Curtis, Frank Dietrich, Sudesh Duggal, W. Vernon Hicks, Ljubomir Nacev, William Recker, Denise Robinson, Chris Stiegler.

GUESTS: Joe Conger, Bill Oliver, Allen Ellis, Carol Futhey.

A quorum was not present at 12:00 to begin the meeting. The meeting started at 12:06 p.m.

All senators are urged to send in the committee preference forms to Peg.

The Senate next year will be comprised of 6 full professors, 22 associate professors and the remainder assistant professors.

New officers will begin service on August 1 as well as the new Senate.

A correction on the ballot is that Dennis Lye has been nominated for Budget Chair and not Benefits Chair.

Nominations for Benefits Chair and Curriculum Chair or any other office were opened from the floor.

Ted Weiss nominated Bill Wagner for Benefits Chair. Marjorie Muntz seconded. Bill declined.

Marjorie Muntz nominated Andrea Cournelle for Benefits Chair. Andrea declined.

Art Miller nominated Marjorie Muntz for Curriculum Chair. Marjorie declined.

Nancy had seen a great deal of support for faculty senates at the recent conference on Faculty Governance. She feels we are on the brink of a turnaround nationally in the area of governance.

A last call was made for nominations for the slate.

Faculty Senate Minutes Election on May 11, 1989

h tz

Jim Thomas nominated Art Miller for Benefits Chair. Bill Wagner seconded. Art declined.

Ted Weiss nominated Frank Stallings as Curriculum Chair. Art Miller seconded. Frank declined.

No further nominations were made.

The Executive Committee can assume the role of the Senate over the summer and can appoint a Benefits Chair and a Curriculum Chair.

No objection was placed to treat the slate as a whole.

The slate was approved unanimously.

The new Senate Officers include: Dennis O'Keefe - President Carol Bredemeyer - Vice President Geraldine Williams - Secretary Mike Thomson - Parliamentarian Dennis Lye - Budget & Commonwealth Affairs Chair Jim Thomas - Professional Concerns Chair

Nancy donated to the Senate library a copy of <u>Swim With the Sharks Without</u> Being Eaten Alive and presented it to Dennis O'Keefe as the new President.

GW/pg