STAFF CONGRESS

Regular Meeting - November 4, 1983

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Guest Speaker Dr. Gene Scholes, Vice-President for Administration
- III. President's Report
- IV. Vice-President's Report
- V. Committee Reports- Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee Credentials and Elections Committee
- VI. Determination of One-Year/Two-Year Terms for Representatives
- VII. Election of Officers

STAFF CONGRESS MINUTES November 4, 1983

The regular meeting of Staff Congress was called to order. The roll was taken and a quorum was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT: A. Dale Adams, Dan Alford, W. Michael Baker, Arlis Blackburn, Sandi Cunningham, Kathy Dawn, David Dorgan, Cindy Dunaway, Gary Eith, Don Gammon, Jerry Groeschen, Carol Guthier, Pat Harrington, Jean Henegar, Barbara Herald, Diane Hunley, Russ Kerdolff, Bonnie Lowe, Mike Martin, Joyce Maegly, LaVerne Mulligan, Linda Sanders, Jay Stevens, John Teegarden, Dolores Thelan, Linda Thierbach.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Dan Bayes, Donna Bridewell, Pat Coleman, Jim Hartig, Norleen Pomerantz.

GUESTS: Dr. Gene Scholes, Dorinda Giles, Gregg Schulte

The newly elected members were announced.

The minutes of the September and October meetings have been approved.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Dan Alford reported for Pat Coleman, Chairperson, in regards to a Tax Deferred Annuity Plan given to the Committee from Gregg Schulte, Personnel Director. The Committee will be recommending that a committee be made up with the following representation: The Director of Personnel Services, a faculty member, and a Staff Congress member to look into the expansion of this plan.

Action will be taken when the formal recommendation is made.

At this time Dr. Gene Scholes spoke to Staff Congress about his role with Staff Congress in the future.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Linda Sanders welcomed all new members. She expressed needs and goals for Staff Congress for the coming year and how important this new year will be.

VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Dan Alford presented engraved gavels to Dorinda Giles, past president, and Linda Sanders, president, in appreciation for their service to Staff Congress. Also a plaque will be displayed with their names on it.

Determinations were made for the staggered terms in the following categories: Administrative Affairs - Dolores Thelan, 2 years; Russ Kerdolff, 1 year.

<u>At-Large</u> - Sandi Cunningham, 2 years; Pat Harrington, 1 year; Bonnie Lowe, 2 years; Kathy Dawn, 2 years.

Technical - Jerry Groeschen, 1 year; LaVerne Mulligan, 2 years.

Professional - Jay Stevens, 2 years; Linda Sanders, 1 year.

General Administration - Jean Henegar, 2 years; Joyce Maegly, 1 year.

STAFF CONGRESS MINUTES Page 2 November 4, 1983

The meeting was turned over to Gary Eith, Parlimentarian, to handle the election of officers. Three positions will be elected: President, Vice President, and Secretary/Treasurer.

Russ Kerdolff and Mike Martin served as tellers.

Election of President

Linda Sanders was nominated as President by Don Gammon, seconded by Linda Thierbach. Linda Sanders accepted the nomination.

Dan Alford was nominated by Diane Hunley and seconded by Pat Harrington.

Dan Alford accepted the nomination.

Dolores Thelen moved, seconded by Mike Baker that nominations cease. Motion passed.

Dan Alford was elected President of Staff Congress for the coming year.

Election of Vice President

Dan Alford nominated Linda Sanders as Vice President, seconded by Cindy Dunaway. Linda Sanders accepted the nomination.

Mike Martin nominated Dave Dorgan, seconded by Pat Harrington. Dave accepted the nomination.

Barbara Herald nominated Jay Stevens, seconded by Carol Guthier. Jay Stevens declined the nomination.

Don Gammon moved that nominations cease, seconded by Russ Kerdolff. Motion passed.

Linda Sanders was elected Vice President for the coming year.

Election of Secretary/Treasurer

Dolores Thelen nominated Arlis Blackburn, seconded by Jean Henegar. Arlis Blackburn accepted the nomination.

Dave Dorgan nominated Kathy Dawn, seconded by Mike Martin. Kathy Dawn declined the nomination.

Linda Sanders nominated Linda Thierbach, seconded by Kathy Dawn. Linda accepted.

Dan Alford nominated Joyce Maegly, seconded by Jay Stevens. Joyce Maegly declined.

Cindy Dunaway nominated Carol Guthier. Carol Guthier declined.

Mike Baker moved nominations cease, seconded by Mike Martin. Motion passed.

The candidates are Linda Thierbach and Arlis Blackburn. The new Secretary/Treasurer is Linda Thierbach.

Dan Alford, the new President, officially took over the meeting.

Gary Eith was appointed as Parlimentarian for the coming year.

Dan Alford also stated this is a very important year for Staff Congress.

Meeting adjournment moved by Mike Baker, seconded by Barbara Herald. Meeting adjourned.

November 29, 1983

MEMORANDUM

TO: Staff Congress Representatives

FR: Dan Alford

RE: December Meeting

Due to the busy schedules of everyone involved with the inauguration activities, I have changed our December meeting date which is normally scheduled the first Friday of each month.

Our December meeting of Staff Congress will be held $\frac{Friday}{P}$, December 9th from 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. in room 108 of the University Center.

I have attached the agenda for this meeting as well as the minutes of our November meeting. This will be a very important meeting for <u>all</u> members in that we will be reviewing the unfinished activities of all Staff Congress committees and their plans for this year. As you know, I expect each member of Congress to serve on at least one committee. The committee chairs or I will be contacting you soon to discuss your committee membership interests.

Please mark your calendars now for the December 9th meeting. If you cannot attend please notify Linda Thierbach at ext. 5421.

Thank you.

DA:1t Enclosures

MEMORANDUM

Physical Plans
AC 221

DATE: November 2, 1983

TO: A. Dale Adams
Dan Alford

W. Michael Baker

Dan Bayes

Arlis Blackburn Donna Bridewell

Pat Coleman

Sandi Cunningham

Kathy Dawn

David Dorgan

Cindy Dunaway

Gary Eith

Don Gammon

Jerry Groeschen

Carol Guthier

Pat Harrington

James Hartig

Jean Henegar

Barbara Herald

Diane Hunley

Russ Kerdolff

Bonnie Lowe

Mike Martin

Joyce Maegley

LaVerne Mulligan

Norleen Pomerantz

Gregg Schulte

Jay Stevens

Jay blevens

John Teegarden

Dolores Thelen Linda Thierbach

FROM: Linda Sanders

RE: First 1983-1984 Congress Meeting

The new Congress will begin its 1983-84 session at its first regular meeting, scheduled for 10:00 a.m. in UC 108 on Friday, November 4, 1983. Included on the agenda are an address by Vice President for Administration Dr. Gene Scholes, and the election of officers. I look forward to seeing you all in attendance for the beginning of Congress' third year.

Thank you.

Ossanders.